The Sangallo Palace is home to the second floor, the "International Museum of caricature" that was inaugurated in 1970. Designed and built by the doctor tolentinate caricaturist Luigi Mari (1907-1974) with competence and passion after several years of constant and patient research, the Museum is unique in its kind in Italy and one of the few in the world. In some of the rooms include a historical introduction to the caricature and various sections: humor and art; History; Caricature and Humor. The Museum is now recognized as a meeting place of fundamental importance to historians, artists, critics, scholars and enthusiasts of caricature. There are now gathered more than three thousand works including prints, etchings, drawings, sculptures, and paintings of the most famous masters of caricature and humour of all time and country.