was built by the merchant, Giovanni
Romei around the mid fifteenth century, and it was decorated on the
occasion of his wedding to Polissena d'Este. The courtyard was in the
late Gothic style and this together with the floral decorations, the
Hall of the Sibille and the Prophets as well as the"Studiolo"
constitute the core style unique to Ferrara. During the time that the
house formed part of the complex of Corpus Domini, the ceilings of the
rooms on the first floor (XVI century), were decorated with grotesques
that adorn the façades. The property was acquired by the State in 1898.
Casa Romei became a veritable museum in 1953 and received collections of
frescoes, statues and lapidaries from city buildings.