Admire the most beautiful places of Rivara and add them to your basket. YAMGU will create your trip considering distances, opening hours and weather.
The castle of Rivara with a 45,000 m² park is located in Rivara, 30 kilometers from Turin in the Canavese valleys. It is a complex composed of medieval architecture with neo-baroque bright rooms of three independent buildings: the medieval castle, the neo-Baroque villa and the stables.
Historical notes [edit | change wikitext]
The upper castle, which has preserved more traces of its medieval origins, was built in the twelfth century by the Counts of Valperga and is set to rule the road towards the mountain. In the fifteenth century, the upper castle became the seat of the Inquisition
Built at one of the gates of the old shelter in 1500, this emblematic church was decorated in baroque style in 1684 and has an unusual triangular bell tower, rare feature but not unique in Canavese. On the front door is a fresco of the Holy Shroud. The Annunciation Brotherhood was officially dissolved in 2006 alone.
Built around 1500 around a more ancient chapel dedicated to the Nativity, was originally consecrated to our Lady, to see then prevail the oldest local Patron Saint. Originally had no Bell Tower, which was built only in 1768. The Church boasts a double spanzottiana school recently restored fresco and the presence of a fine organ Bossi-Vegezzi dating back to 1871.
Mentioned for the first time in a donation of 1277, must surely exist before the year 1000. To this ancient church, then dedicated to the Nativity of St. John, they were based in the villages of origin Rivara, Oven, Camagna and Busano. Later it became known as San Giovanni extra terram riparian, following the displacement of the village. In 1418 he was visited by St. Bernardino of Siena, who preached there. The current building is a result of an extension made in the early part of the nineteenth century (the threshold bears the inscription MUNCIPALITA '1799) probably completed in 1814, as
Built at the turn of the mid nineteenth century in neoclassical style by architect Formento, to undergo a subsequent transformation in art nouveau style, was the summer residence of the banker Carlo Ogliani and saw the birth of the artistic movement known as at the hands of Charles's brother-Rivara School Pittara. The building, on three floors above ground was purchased by the City of Rivara in the early 90s and refurbished to accommodate the new town hall. In addition to the town hall located there the mountainous Alto Canavese Community and Canavese Valleys GAL.
Mention in itself wort